Saturday And Other Tales

I like this little hide-away. I whipped back into town and grabbed some more stuff in the falcon this morning. Did I tell you about my mates falcon? It’s an EF(?) XR6 4 door, 5 speed manual. Now I love my Fords as far as manufacturer allegiance is concerned. And yes, the electronics on these models are interesting, to put it politely. On regular occasions, this little baby will refuse to feed fuel to the system. The fuel pump solenoid kicks in, but the pump doesn’t pressurize. The pump is new, so I suspect an issue with the injector rail end, or just a dicky ‘smart-lock’. ‘Smart-Locks’ in the context of these Fords should actually be called,”You motherfucking motherfucker!”
Did you know that the ‘Smart-Lock’ is attached to the interior light fuse? If that fuse blows, your falcon won’t start.
This lock is very smart. You have to jiggle the ignition to find its P spot (pressurization). Then it runs fine. However, “Does it go?”
Well…to be mild, “Fuck yes. It does go!” As my friend will testify when we blew the cobwebs out. 160km/h was reached very quickly. It is the type of vehicle that is happy to cruise in fifth at one hundred kliks, but if you need to round something up, a knock back to third and a bootful spits you around the tourist and up to about one forty before you know it. A quick upchange to fifth, back off a tad, and you’re settling back to seventeen hundred revs and a hundred kliks again.
But that’s not the subject of this post.
I brought some more stuff out this morning. I got my mates stereo to get RebelFM, but not JJJ. I can deal with that. Hendrix is playing now and I am outside. Oh, here are some views around the house block. Yes, I need a slasher. Can anyone tell me what the Red fruit are? Nikki? Luke? Anyone? The block has about 50 different fruit trees. A sample includes Jak Fruit, Carambola (star) fruit, lychee, mango, banana, custard apple, guava, soursop and othets I haven’t identified. I’m bringing 30 Golden Passionfruit seedlings with me.

image

Looking from the hammock to the edge of the orchard.

image

Epiphytes on a palm near the house

image

Another view of the orchard.

image

The shed is hiding in there.

image

The path to civilisation.

image

image

The mystery Red fruit. What is it? It tastes sweet.

image

Floyd & Flossy

image

Floyd & Jack

image

Mango, Jak Fruit & Star Fruit (carambola).

image

The Star fruit are just perfect 🙂

image

A home hides here.

image

The obligatory Hibiscus image 😉 This particular variety is special to me. My (not really ex) father in law. Father of my ex, father of three other dear friends who I also call family, & Grandfather of my children & His others Girls’ kids,  has been successfuly growing one of these next to the back steps of the Milton Post Office, on the NSW South Coast. I had never seen this variety prior to first seeing Graemes in the mid nineties. Back then, His was a spindly thing, about a metre high, with one flower on a single stalk.. Some years later we returned, and Graemes hibiscus had reached the first landing of the back steps. It also was in bloom with at least half a dozen flowers. He is an amazing man, and I always smile when I see these growing up here in the tropics. His hibiscus (as I call it) reflects his quiet tenacity.

I’m going to walk up the hill and see if I can upload this. If it does,lucky us 🙂 If not, you’ll get it later 🙂

2 thoughts on “Saturday And Other Tales

  1. Can you cut one of those red fruit in half and photograph it?? I am intrigued now 😀 Where you are staying looks lush and beautiful – if it wasn’t for the humidity, I would live there in an instant 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

