At A Crossroads

It’s half past midnight, Saturday morning. I’m sitting in the minibus, at the top of the mountain pass on the Bloomfield road, just near the Cedar Bay sign. It’s blowing a gale up here. 30 to 40 knot winds. You can hear the wind roar up the valley over the rainforest canopy, then it hits the bus, buffeting it about and howling around the panels. But it’s peaceful. Far more peaceful than town would be right now. Friends are expecting me to join them for drinks, but I’m just not up for it.
I was up at 6:30 this morning and have just finished two runs to Wujal Wujal (so nice you say it twice) that started at 11:30 this morning. First run was to pick up two transfers from Ayton to go to the Cairns bus, then a run for the Yindilli football team supporters. I picked them up at five this arvo and took them into Cooktown for the Three Rivers Rugby League series match. The Wujal Wujal team Yindilli, were playing one of the two Hopevale teams, last years dubious premiers, the Red Soil Rebels. Yindilli lost to them in the Grand Final last year under controversial circumstances. So controversial that the coach of the Rebels wanted to hand the trophy to the Yindilli coach, because he believed they were the real winners. Apparently some of the umpires decisions were obviously biased in favour of his home towns team. Unfortunately, Yindilli lost to them tonight. Most reckon it was another ‘Umpires win’. I hope Wujal Wujal win the premiership this year.
But, that’s not what I wanted to write about.
I’m at a crossroads. Wondering whether I want to stay in Cooktown anymore. On the one hand I fucking adore this country and the friends I’ve made this past year. But on the other, a few things have happened this past few days that make me wonder whether I should ‘pull up stumps’ and leave.
I’ll make a decision by Monday on whether I come back here after taking my daughter on holiday in June. Right now I am torn.
It’s just a shame that paradise has a dark side…

Leave a Reply

