Haleys Bloomfield

So it came to pass that I would be spending a few days down in Bloomfield. I got booked into Haleys camping & cabins for Wednesday & Thursday night, but I didnt get here until after dark Wednesday evening. I had left Cooktown at 5pm with six passengers joining me on the drive over ‘that’ road.
I dropped a couple of French WWOOFers off at Ayton around 6:30pm. They were meeting their host at the store. I figured that they’d have to phone, so I let them know that I’d be back that way in half an hour and I’d check to see if they were OK. I then dropped Gracie, old Harry, Ray & Trevor off at Wujal Wujal (so nice you say it twice). Trevor had just got back from Mossman, and the others had spent the afternoon in Cooktown (I’d picked them up earlier in the day & taken them into town).
On the way back to Ayton, I dropped in to the Middle Shop to have a quick coffee and say hi to Rosie. I headed back to Ayton and checked in with George the bus driver. My French passengers were still at the store, so I made a mental note not to forget them. George told me where to find my lodgings inside Haleys and said that Paul & Jude the owners, had turned the porch light on for me. I headed up to the shop and asked the backpackers how they were fairing. As I’d thought, they couldn’t get phone reception to call Neil, their WWOOFer host. All public phones down this way are ‘Phonecard only’. The French couple didn’t have a card, so we used mine to call Neil to come grab them. They were very happy Vegemites after that, knowing they weren’t stranded. The family across the road from the shop had offered them a roof for the night already though, so they would have been well looked after.
I eventually got into Haleys around 7:30 or 8:00pm. I found my way to my accommodation easily.

image

I’m in a ‘safari tent’. One of those big permanent tent setups you see in outback lodges all over the place where it’s warm enough to have them. First impressions were good. The tent has a double & two single beds, as well as a place to hang your clothes and store your stuff. There is a front landing where you can sit and watch the day go by if you so please.
I wandered up to the main house, passing through the community kitchen and restaurant area,

image

past the conveniences and the shower block and into the reception area and the ‘in a house’ accommodation area. I think that’s what it is. I’ll quizz Paul and Jude later about it. They had also left me a message on the blackboard with directions and a number to call if I got stuck. Another guest informed me that they’d gone out for an hour or so.
I sorted my stuff out and put my milk & juice in the community fridge. Then I had a nice hot shower, my first since Sunday night at the Middle Shop. Thursday I buy mozzie repellent. Why I didn’t Wednesday arvo is beyond me. After all, this is the tropics. Mozzies live here. I’m sitting on the deck, trying to ignore the little buggers as they chew at my ankles.
Paul came down around nine and introduced himself. He explained the 12/240 volt lighting and sorted me out with a packet of mozzie coils and some matches. He’s a nice bloke.
In the morning I headed down to Georges and got organised with the school bus run. Once I’d finished that, I came back to some washing. I met Jude at the laundry area as she was folding towels from the dryer. She kindly offered to put my washing in the dryer once it was done (and charge it to the boss). Seriously nice hosts are Paul and Jude.
I went down the beach for a bit and came back to relax a bit more in the campground. It’s a little overcast today, with a nice breeze blowing.

image

Haleys is very peaceful, beautifully landscaped, but also very natural.
The beach at Weary bay is a ten minute walk through the forest, or a two minute drive away. At night, from my tent, I could just hear the waves rolling in. I can hear them now, and it’s just before lunch. Haleys also plays host to thirty different bird species, that become background music as you unwind.
Here are a few more pics of the common kitchen, the restaurant, cabins & grounds. And a very cool strangler fig. Oh, Haleys is for sale too.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

2 thoughts on “Haleys Bloomfield

    • It’s very calming when quiet. Gets a little crowded sometimes tho. Had sevrn other people camping these past coue of days.

      Like

Leave a Reply

