The Camera Shy Dog

Someone gave me a hug today 🙂
Thankyou someone. It meant a lot. I think of that hug and smile.

My job change. Shit shit shit.
Looks like I’ll be an airside support/check in person at Cooktown airport sometime in July. I really, really like it down here in yalanji country. Everyone is friendly. It’s a tight community and is very different from the rest of the world. In fact I nearly stopped to photograph a local bloke in his tinnie with his Red dog on the river. The river is a standard way to get around down here, but I forget sometimes that some things here are very different to suburbia. For example, shorts, a Hawaiian shirt & thongs are acceptable footwear for the bus driver. Timetables for anything are ‘loose’ for want of a better word. Life is relatively casual actually. I would love to stay here, but I really need to earn some moolah.

Floyd is scared of the camera. For those of you who always read my oft times rambling posts, you’ll know the trouble I have getting Floyd in a quiet enough moment to capture him in a pic. For those who haven’t met Floyd, he is a 10 month old bundle of energy. He’s a mix of Smithfield Cattle Dog, American Staffie, Red Nose Pitbull, and Harlequin Great Dane. Rest assured, the only part of the Dane he has is the colour! His arse is far too close to the ground to even hint at being big. However, that pain in the arse heel biting instinct/gene from the cattle dog is very bloody healthy. Poor Jack cops it all the time & the only time Floyd stops is when he cops a stick across the arse! Cruel to be kind I guess. He needs to learn that it’s bad friggin manners & other less fortunate dogs would be shot for having such bad habits. Damn dog.
Anyway, I finally got a couple of shots of Floyd sitting still. Well, OK, one stting still and one sort of sleeping. But not after he tried to avoid the camera:

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Jack on the other hand just lays there:

image

I’ve been playing with a couple of fishing lures too. It’s a bit cold for barramundi at the moment, so I just practice my casts into the river or along the edge of the mangroves. By the time they start biting again, I should be able to land a lure exactly where I want it.
Oh, and last night I had a visitor in my room. Cute lil fella, but I might have squashed him if he curked up with me:

image

image

image

He’s only about four or five feet long, and surprisingly agile considering the chilly 23C temps we’ve had (colder at night though 17 maybe).
Anyway, I should grab a six pack of Coopers for when I get home.
Looking forward to June holidays.

One thought on “The Camera Shy Dog

  1. damn man…told ya everything bites there…lol..

    good to see floyd..man he’s gotten big..

    thinking of you..love bob

    Like

Leave a Reply

