It’s Good News I Think

Well I think it is. I think.
I went to Cooktown on Friday and got talking to a bloke in the office. I know him, and as we got chatting, he told me they’re going to trial Him with the airport job. Yay! That’s a load off my mind. I really didn’t want that job, as fun as it sounds, the novelty would have worn off real quick. I’ll be doing some transfers & Cairns trips when needed, but I can stay in Bloomfield. Double yay! Now I can settle a little and make plans for the end of the month. I may have something pretty cool organised up here for Grommety and me. A bama friend has offered to take us out in his boat to do some traditional style fish hunting on Lake Reef, and to visit Hope Islands for some ocean mud crab & Cedar Bay. If it comes to fruition, it’ll be a unique experience and education for both of us. Ocean mudcrabs you ponder? Apparently on many of the closer islands have resident mud crabs. It is said that they have a rich green shell colour and taste so much better than estaury mud crabs. I’ll let you know.
I’ve also heard that a few locals were sad that I might have been leaving. I must have made some sort of good impression. Dunno how, but hey, it makes me feel good. πŸ™‚
Tomorrow (Saturday) is the start of the Cooktown Discovery Festival. I’ll be in town for a while to check things out, but I may have to go to Cairns in the arvo. The minibus needs some work, so I’ll probably be taking that down & bringing something else back. I want toΒ  catch up with Jasmine in town, because her belly dancing troupe will be performing over the weekend and they’re pretty cool. They have snakes and stuff,and their performance combines traditional and modern music. There are also a bunch of bands playing over three days too.
The Lions Den has a bunch of good bands playing over the weekend as well, so this part of the planet won’t be short of entertainment this weekend.
I am feeling a little more settled in myself now. Knowing that I don’t have to do the airport. I mean, I could have said no in the first place, but the ‘boss’ is a mate,& he has helped me out in past, so I felt like I shouls do it, because no-one had applied, until Thursday (thankyou Robert). There is also another reason I don’t want to leave this area, but that’s for me to keep to myself, because it would be silly of me to say anything because someone might get seasick. Suffice to say that I am enjoying the conversations I have with someone, and I want to have many more before this someone leaves. I would have been shattered if I came for a visit & they’d left.
I may sneak up to the Lions Den soon. If I get the urge, I’ll camp up there and head in to Cokie from there. It’s nly about 30km to Cooktown from ‘The Den’. I have a pillow & sleeping bag, so I won’t freeze.
Well, the Goats were at the Den, as well as a plethora of tourists. I caught up with a couple of locals, had a beer…and then headed home. I should have stayed because it was shaping up to be a humdinger of a night. Instead, I dropped Dans daughter Sheraya (sp?) off home & and headed home myself. I figured I should have a relatively early night, because I want to scrub the inside of the bus before I head into town tomorrow. Anyways, night all, and bear hugs πŸ˜‰
08:00 Saturday morning. The bus is scrubbed & I’m showered, & I don’t have to leave for Cooktown until 10’ish. I’ll see if I can clean up the upholstery before I leave.
Update. Don’t hafta go to Cairns til Monday.

One thought on “It’s Good News I Think

  1. lol…glad ya ducked that job you didn’t want…sounds like a great chance to do that sea crabbing…etc…miss you bard..

    Like

Leave a Reply

