It Will All Be OK One Day

Hey folks. It’s been a while since my last real post. Lots has been happening over the past couple of weeks.
My daughter Lillian has been up on holidays, swimming with crocs and generally falling in love with this magical part of the world. She loved the Lions Den

image

image

As I wrote in a previous post, I’ll be posting more pics as son as I have access to a computer.
Norm and I drove her home on the weekend, leaving here at 2:30pm Saturday and getting into Rockhampton around 1:00pm Sunday after a three hour delay in Cairns and a few naps along the way. We stayed long enough for a cuppa with Jimmy (Therese’ boyfriend), then made our way home. We missed the last ferry across the Daintree, and had a minor problem with the car, so it was Monday around lunchtime before we got home. Still, I think we did alright. It’s roughly 1200km to Rockhampton from here.
The trip was uneventful really, besides the fog  and the rain down South, and being pulled up by the cops just South of Cairns. It kinda went like this:
I was doing about 10kmh over the speed limit when they pulled us up and expected another ticket (I got done on the way down to pick Lill up three weeks ago), but no.
“Just a breath test tonight sir.”
“You realise your left headlight is nearly shot.”
Me: “Yeah, I hit a roo a couple days ago. It’s a bit hard to get spare parts where I come from.”
“You know your mate is lying on the back seat without a seatbelt on.”
Me: “Oh, I didn’t know he’d gone to sleep.”
“Where are you heading?”
“Rockhampton.”
“OK then sir, have a safe journey.”
They could have written three tickets, but they let me go, and didn’t even try to wake Norm up. Thanks fellas.
The highway South of Proserpine has suffered due to a lot of rain down that way. One of the potholes in the Northbound lane was about four metres long and half a metre wide, a real trap for the unwary. On our side there was a deep, almost sinkhole sized depression in the road that was two metres in diameter and fifty centimetres deep in the middle. Luckily I saw it in time to straddle the hole.
Oh, I have found love again. I have found strength, and joy, and laughter. I think I’m going to be OK, only time will tell if that is true. It’s complicated and it’s possible that our paths may not follow the same direction. But either way, she has shown me that I am not dead yet. She has given me back my ‘self’ and I will always love her for that reason. So yeah, I think I am going to be OK. I really hope that she will be OK too. By the end of the week, she will be 2000km away, starting again with a new chapter in her life. I want to be a part of that chapter. However, that may not end up happening. But that’s OK (I think). What is more important is that she ends up happy and content. I know I have, at the very least, a dear friend. A most beautiful friend. What more can we ask for in life, but to have ourselves surrounded by beautiful caring people? Yep. I think I will be OK, and she will be too, because we have been lucky enough to get to know each other and share our sorrow and our joy. Which has resulted in some our sorrows eased, and our joy doubled.
Life is good again (which means I probably should be getting worried, hey Big Sis).
Random photo time:

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

3 thoughts on “It Will All Be OK One Day

  1. Hi Brad..sorry for recent absence..

    damn weed….I’m cuffed to see your raised spirits my friend…..
    have a good time with daughter..

    tell her about uncle twisty….

    pop in at site when you get comp access if you can buddy….
    we all miss you….

    love.Bob.

    Like

Leave a Reply

