Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited

This post is a contribution to the Daily Prompt.

OK. This doesn’t come easy, because I don’t feel I *need* to expose this to everyone. I am OK with what happened to me as a child. I accept what happened because it can *never* be changed.
Our lives follow a path that just happens. We have to accept the good with the bad and live. We can’t let bad things beat us, otherwise
the bad things win.
However, if there was one thing I chose to change in my childhood, it would be that I hadn’t been sexually abused.
Child sexual abuse changes you.

But we live. We can’t allow the shit to bury our souls and our inner beauty. If we allow the abusers to destroy our lives, they win. Well fuck them.
They are poor sorry souls. We the victims are above them. We are better people. They cannot destroy our souls. Because we are good people.

Pink Flower

Everything Grows

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: No Childhood Revisit Here | My Blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited … It was not the Brady Bunch | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Childhood Revisited – Let’s get inspired and also revisit food related disasters from our childhood! | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  4. Yes you are a good person. I don’t know what it’s like to be in your shoes, but I salute you for having the courage to say it. I hope this will be a journey to healing.

    Like

    • It’s OK Seeker. I healed some time ago. It’s just that I figure the past is the past and bringing it up isn’t needed. However, I thought that this theme would be a good time to do it here. I mean, the more of us who acknowledge publicly that we’ve been abused, the more new parents will be aware that it is not a rare thing. Child sexual abuse is very common, so it needs to be publicised so we can prevent it happening to other children in the future. There are some sick people in this world.
      Thank you for commenting, and thank you for your kind words 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

