Weekly Photo Challenge: Change (or ‘A Bit of Gimp Play’)

The Gimp is an Open Source, free alternative to Photoshop. I haven’t used PS for a long time, and have just started to come to grips with Gimp. It is a very powerful program. Check it out here:

The Gimp

I had a very amateur  play with The Gimp this evening. I did some custom tweaks to some inbuilt filters and used the clone tool (very poorly). This is the original, untouched imageImage

I removed the modern tower that was poking up behind the synagogue and then Patched up my roughness a bit (see third image). I used layers and clone tools and erasers and an airbrush. Then I did some mild posterizing effects.

Image

I played with the ‘Supernova’ lighting effect to place three sparklies on the spires etc. You can see my poor patching over of the building that was in the original.

Image

Finally, I just went psychedelic with the colorising/ourising tool

Image

I’ll play some more and show some post processing tools next time.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Change (or ‘A Bit of Gimp Play’)

Leave a Reply

