A Garden Is Begun

Hi all

Sorry I haven’t blogged for a bit. I got distracted…by that scourge of the Interwebz.

F-B

However, I did finally take the first baby steps to growing our own food. I started to dig up a messy patch of ground under my bedroom window and grow something.

We had a chilli bush that friends had given us, and it had been surviving in a half 2 litre milk container. I had planned to make a kitchen garden at some point, so, feeling sorry for the (2) chilli bushes in the container, I dug a garden.

Cleaning up the unused patch of ground.

Cleaning up the unused patch of ground.

As you can see in the pic above, I’d already cleared a small patch previously to transplant the chilli. It had been in for a few weeks or more by now.

Kinda sorta there, but not really

Kinda sorta there, but not really

Once I’d cleared this patch, there wasn’t much else to do. The local store doesn’t sell any type of seed for planting as far as I’ve seen, so it was a wait until I go to Cairns or Brisbane thing before I could plant.

The fledgling vegetable patch and the flower garden.

The fledgling vegetable patch and the flower garden.

Well, as you can see, I went to Brisbane and bought a bunch of seeds; Bok Choy, Beans, tomatoes, Thai Basil, Capsicum, Radish, Silverbeet, Sunflowers, Impatiens, Nasturtiums, and a cottage flower mix.

I pulled down the old satellite dish and balanced it on an old stump. It already has some old bolt holes and drain holes in it, so it was perfect for what I wanted to use it for. Then I started to fill it with old half rotted compost and mulch. After that, I cheated and mixed in some premium potting mix. I’ve already transplanted the tomatoes from their seeding pots so they get a good start. Eventually they’ll trail over the side of the dish, creating a tomato curtain. I planted Impatiens seeds at the base of the stump, but nothing has sprouted as yet.

The tomatoes in the satellite dish

The tomatoes in the satellite dish

The lawn and paddock has all been mowed and slashed, and the gardens are starting to look good again. I just hope the sun starts to shine consistently for a while.

House and Garden :)

House and Garden šŸ™‚

Nasturtiums and Radish in a log

Nasturtiums and Radish in a log

I planted the Radish behind the Nasturtiums in this old log. I fortified the soil with a good potting mix and some certified Organic fertilizer mix. They should thrive. All the other plants are coming back after the boys burnt the old garden off. The Monsterio that I thought was buggered even has a new shoot.

The future window shades

The future window shades

These plants will eventually get ginormous leaves around a metre or so long. When they get to that size, they’ll act as a privacy screen for the bathroom window.

The young Beans

The young Beans

The beans will create a curtain/border along the steps. You can see my slap up trellis in the previous pics. I’ll be making a more aesthetically pleasing one with some sapling and vine in the future.

The Seed Chilli

The Seed Chilli

The chilli bush/es (there were two growing so close together that they couldn’t be separated safely) gave us over a dozen chillis so far. I’ve left this one on as seed stock for future planting.

Anyway, I’ll keep you updated on how the garden progresses. Eventually, the whole area between the bath house and the house proper will be a garden, except for the paths of course.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “A Garden Is Begun

Leave a Reply

