Trippin’ Around – Part One of some…

Edited 16:15 08-10-2013 (added ‘Rich Grime’ graffiti image)

Well, I’ve been around up and down the coast. Back in early September, Norm and I headed down to Sydney for the ‘The Deadlys‘.

I hadn’t been to Sydney since around 1988 I think. So, as you do when you’re a hillbilly in the Big Smoke, you take photos. Unfortunately, I have no ‘Deadlys’ pics. I had assumed cameras wouldn’t be welcome, but I was wrong. Only the use of Flash was banned. I had left the camera back in our room. But I did get a few tourist snaps.

We flew direct from Cairns to Sydney:

Cairns from the air )left is South).

Cairns from the air (left is South).

A section of the Great Barrier Reef

A section of the Great Barrier Reef

Townsville from the air

Townsville from the air

Landing in Sydney, Olympic Park at Homebush. Home of the 2000 Olympics.

Landing in Sydney, Olympic Park at Homebush. Home of the 2000 Olympics.

So, we landed in Sydney and caught the train into the city. We jumped out (unbeknownst to us) one station too early and ended up walking about a kilometre and a half to the hostel. After a shower and a shave, we went out for a wander and took a few photos. Over the three days I think I walked more than I had in the past six months. For me, one point to another didn’t seem far, because there was so much going on all the time to get my attention. I walked from the X Base hostel in Kent street down to the Opera House, then under the Bridge, then up through The Rocks. My favourite Sydney Ale House, the Lord Nelson Hotel, is at the start of Kent Street. The hostel is at 477 Kent, so the walk back was long, especially after 2 pints of ‘Old Admiral’ and one of ‘3 Sheets’. The Lord Nelson is the oldest continually licensed pub in Australia, and they brew their own beers in the basement where the original brewhouse was.

Check the hotel out on their website. Here are a couple of random views from my seat outside in the sun on the footpath, watching the world move around me.

Eureka Flag and Westfield Tower

Eureka Flag and Westfield Tower

Above the corner shop, across the road from the Lord Nelson.

Above the corner shop, across the road from the Lord Nelson.

Somewhere that way is Australia's second largest city.

Somewhere that way is Australia’s second largest city.

This is a summary of my short time in Sydney:
Monday arvo (9th). We had a quick shower and walked down to the Opera House and then up to the Lord Nelson. We had a couple, then walked back to the hostel.  Monday night, I went for a wander down to Circular Quay again and took a couple of night shots. Tuesday morning (10th), I got up early early, before 6am and went out to get some ‘Sydney waking up’ images.  Norm  caught up with a friend later in the morning and I went out walking the city, taking a few pics before meeting them down at the sculptures near Circular Quay again. I headed off to ‘The Rocks’ again, via the road under the Sydney Harbour Bridge, while Norm and his friend went out to Bondi. Tuesday night was The Deadlys. Wednesday morning (11th), Norm slept (he hit the after party circuit), and I went up the Westfield ‘Centrepoint’ Tower and took some pics. I flew out of Sydney on Wednesday afternoon about 2ish I think. Anyway, in no particular order of time or location, here are my views of Sydney.

Walking through a residential area of The Rocks in Sydney. I could almost live here for a while.

Walking through a residential area of The Rocks in Sydney. I could almost live here for a while.

The Hotel Palisade. I could live on the top floor. It would have commanding views of the Bridge and parts of the city, as well as amazing fews out through the harbour.

The Hotel Palisade. I could live on the top floor. It would have commanding views of the Bridge and parts of the city, as well as amazing views out through the harbour. The Palisade is at the top of the hill, by the harbour.

Laneways between houses at The Rocks, Sydneys oldest suburb.

Laneways between houses at The Rocks, Sydneys oldest suburb.

Monday afternoon 9 September 2013. Norm at the Opera House.

Monday afternoon 9 September 2013. Norm at the Opera House.

As you know, I didn’t take my camera to the Opera House the next evening, because I (blah blah read above). So, in the spirit of stretching out, yet effectively condensing 36 hours in Sydney into one walk thru, I shall continue my view of Sydney.

The old church that now hosts Agatha Christie Murder Nights.

The old church that now hosts Agatha Christie Murder Nights.

Architectural abstraction that people don't see sometimes

Architectural abstraction that people don’t see sometimes

...or the grime under the feet of the rich

…or the grime under the feet of the rich

Before the rush. 6:20am, 10 September 2013

Before the rush. 6:20am, 10 September 2013

Above the city, all appears regimented. However, the grime is still there for the rich to see. Zoom in for a better look.

Above the city, all appears regimented. However, the grime is still there for the rich to see. Zoom in for a better look.

 

Luna Park, closed on Tuesday.

Luna Park, closed on Tuesday.

Progress mirrored

Progress mirrored

For a friend, the Apple store, getting spruced up for the morning.

For a friend, the Apple store, getting spruced up for the morning.

Around back of the Bridge, at the theatre, music and art precinct. 'End Artwork'

Around back of the Bridge, at the theatre, music and art precinct. ‘End Artwork’

A forgotten building, tucked away around a corner, under the bridge.

A forgotten building, tucked away around a corner, under the bridge.

A grand old Sydney building (which one?) viewed from the street...

A grand old Sydney building (which one?) viewed from the street…

...and the same building from above, taken from the observation deck of Westfield Centrepoint Tower.

…and the same building from above, taken from the observation deck of Westfield Centrepoint Tower.

The J. F. Archibald Memorial Fountain, widely regarded as the finest public fountain in Australia.

The J. F. Archibald Memorial Fountain, widely regarded as the finest public fountain in Australia.

Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Archibald_Fountain

Another tempting place to stay for a while. Probably somewhat expensive though.

Another tempting place to stay for a while. Probably somewhat expensive though.

City lanes snake through towering blocks of concrete and glass.

City lanes snake through towering blocks of concrete and glass.

The old and the new, sunrise waking the stonework

The old and the new, sunrise waking the stonework

Sir Joseph Banks and friends adorn a building in the heart of Sydney.

Sir Joseph Banks and friends adorn a building in the heart of Sydney.

All roads lead from...

All roads lead from…

From below the bridge

From below the bridge

The Bridge from above

The Bridge from above

The rivets that hold the bottom arch span together

The rivets that hold the bottom arch span together

The anchor pin and bolts as big as your hand that hold some of the base arch to the ground

The anchor pin and bolts as big as your hand that hold some of the base arch to the ground

The Bridge, looking pretty, early in the morning

The Bridge, looking pretty, early in the morning

Living the high life

Living the high life

Sculptures line a street in Sydney by Circular Quay. The creations tell the story of how a stream once flowed this way, where all people of the area gathered water.

Sculptures line a street in Sydney by Circular Quay. The creations tell the story of how a stream once flowed this way, where all people of the area gathered water.

Where_once_A_Habitat_2

Well, that’s my view of Sydney. I hope you liked it, and maybe got to see something that piques your curiosity. If I get all geeky later, I may edit this post and add a map view of each location.

4 thoughts on “Trippin’ Around – Part One of some…

    • Thanks Brother Bob. I kinda like Sydney and could probably spend more time there if I was rich enough to not have to work for a living. If I ever win Lotto, I’m kidnapping you and flying you over here for an extended medicinal break from the cold or something. I’ll figure some excuse.

      Like

Leave a Reply

