Mad Dogs And Englishmen

The title is from an old song, ‘Mad Dogs and Englishmen‘ by Noel Coward.

This morning, I drove my housemate Norm to work, and took the dogs for a drive with me. I get Fridays off, so I figured I’d stop at the trading post and grab some cleaning stuff and do a big clean up of my bedroom. Cool. So we stop in on the way to work, and I leve the engine running on the Commodore loaner that we’re driving…I drop Norm to work, and I head back. Being such a calm morning, I figured the water would be looking nice, and the dogs hadn’t been to the beach for a while, so I turned right onto Weary bay Road and headed down to the car park and picnic table, where the ‘Windy Loo‘ is (if you go to that link, use the product selector to find ‘Windy Loo Disabled’).

So, we pulled up and decided to turn the car off. It has had a little starter motor problem the past few days. When it gets hot, the motors draws a heap of current from the battery, and is real sluggish. It’s on its way out, or there are connection/earth issues. Anyway, we had a look at the beach and I threw a few sticks for the dogs:

The ocean was almost glass, except for the breeze rippling the surface.

The ocean was almost glass, except for the breeze rippling the surface.

The dogs were enjoying the morning

Chasin' n fetchin'

Chasin’ n fetchin’

The boys love the water

The boys love the water

The views North and South of the spot where we park were beautiful as usual. It’s a real hard life in the paradise of Far North Queensland.

Looking North towards Plantation Creek and Rattlesnake Point.

Looking North towards Plantation Creek and Rattlesnake Point.

Looking South to the mouth of the Bloomfield River

Looking South to the mouth of the Bloomfield River

This saddle is the old way into Cedar Bay. The climb is only about 50 metres, but it is steep on both sides. The North side has a series of ropes to help climb the vertical sections.

The Cedar bay access saddle

The Cedar bay access saddle

Heading to sea from the Bloomfield River

Heading to sea from the Bloomfield River

We headed back to the car. I had been hearing scrub fowl in the bush all morning, and got lucky when they broke cover and wandered down the track. I got a couple of pics, but this one was my favourite

Scrub Fowl

Scrub Fowl

I loaded the dogs in and turned the ignition. The battery couldn’t crank enough to get the tired old starter motor going. Bugger.
After a few tries, I decided we’d walk home and if lucky, get a ride some of the way. We headed off, with my camera bag, but left the cleaning stuff (washing powder, bleach, cloths, disinfectant) in the car. We walked the kilometre to nearly the turn-off at the main road, and then I realised I’d left my wallet in the un-lockable car. So we turned around and headed back. I grabbed my wallet and tried the car again with no luck. So, Jack, Floyd and myself headed on down the road again, hoping someone might pull up and offer us a ride. Just a little note here. We saw 3 cars in the 6.5km that we walked, and they were heading in the wrong direction. We walked home in 30C, 78% humidity. I’m glad we had the creeks with some water in them, or Floyd would have had to be carried. The silly bugger was drinking the sea water earlier.

This a few shots of the dogs and the road home

Thirsty

Thirsty

Cooling off in the first creek. This is looking away from home.

Cooling off in the first creek. This is looking away from home.

Looking North along the creek

Looking North along the creek

This is the second creek crossing

2nd crossing

2nd crossing

Only a little over a kilometre to go puppies

Only a little over a kilometre to go puppies

Aaaaahhh, thanks dad

Aaaaahhh, thanks dad

3 thoughts on “Mad Dogs And Englishmen

  1. Pingback: It Rains Here But It Stays Beautiful | Brad's Blog

Leave a Reply

