Getting High (on a roof) and some Crocodiles

The only real disadvantage to having two big arse trees growing in the middle of your house is the inevitable build up of detritus on the roof from said trees. I got the urge to clean the roof as much as I could today. It was a beautiful, sunshiny, breezy day. The air was clean and clear, the skies brilliant Blue. The trees looked like they were revelling in the beauty of the day. Yeah, so instead of going up to Gap creek, I decided to clean the roof…

The mulch pile on the roof

The mulch pile on the roof

This was the view that greeted me after I’d set up and climbed the ‘heaviest ladder in the world’ (I think it came of a cargo ship). As you can see, the trees provide great shade for the corrugated iron roof. If not for the shade, it would be stinking hot in the house. I set to work with a toothless plastic rake and a house broom, half shovelling the leaves to edge. I’d laid down a cover sheet where the leaves would fall so that I didn’t have to clean up down the bottom as well.

roof02

all-roof02Our roof has some funny pitches to the roof. I think that’s because it was built in stages, with mostly timber from the block and recycled materials.

all-roof01Anyway, in the end I got the thing clean so that I didn’t end up with a compost pile on the roof.

roof03The wet shed is my next target

The Wet ShedOh, I forgot to mention. After the Bloomfield River flushed and settled and the sun came out, the bilkamul came out to sun themselves. These two were about 50 metres apart, on separate mud spits, opposite the main boat ramp. They’re both around 3 metres long.

croc01

croc02

 

Have a look at this image. I thought that I’d missed a shot of a big croc that was floating just off the boat ramp. As I approached from around some bushes, it slipped underwater. I thought it was gone, but took some snaps of the water anyway. The reflections were harsh and the water was steely grey. Anyway, later on I was looking at them on my big screen and saw something. See if you can see the croc in this shot. Hint, only it’s eye ridges are showing.

spotcroc

 

The weather got real wet after the two cyclones left. They’d been stealing our rain, but it came back with a vengeance. We had two nights in a row with over 150mm. Plus constant light to medium rain on other days. It had been really grey for getting on too long. It is true that if you get stuck in this sort of weather for too long, it affects your head. There are terms, ‘Going Troppo’ and ‘Mango Madness’ to describe the condition. This shot was taken looking towards ‘The Gap’, where the road cuts over the mountains, following the path of 2 separate creeks, leading to Rossville, Helenvale and eventually Cooktown. I’m back to driving this road at least 3 times a week for the community Dialysis patients. The people with kidney conditions have to travel this road to Cooktown where the closest Renal unit is located. We have around 5 elderly patients that I transport over what are often very rough, if not dangerous road conditions.

rain-up-the-gap

Wet_Season_Road_03 Wet_Season_Road_01 pothole_deep

The rain was misting through on the south side one morning. I got this halfway decent shot of it.

mist_rainOh, if you were wondering where the hell ‘Bloomfield’ is, this map should give you a rough idea. This sign is at the boat ramp where the crocs were snapped. Cooktown is about 75km by road to the North.
URHere

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Getting High (on a roof) and some Crocodiles

  1. I like that name for the crocodile, is that from the Wujal Wujal area/tribe? Love learning new things such as this!
    75km on that road how long does it take to get to Cooktown from Bloomfield?

    Like

Leave a Reply

