Oh, Hello. I’ve Been Busy.

Cheese*

I realised my last post was a bit light on descriptions. I’ll try and rectify that now. This post will be part catch up, part ornithological tour, and part random images.

So, I’ve been away from the bush, soaking in the city and being a friend to someone special.
I have some photos, and some yarns I could tell as well, so I might do that as soon as can do some mental timeline sorting.

Here we go…

I left at the beginning of August (wow, over three months ago). Without going into the personal side of things, we saw some good entertainment. We ate. I rediscovered some of my old stomping ground. I took lots of photos at times. Saw the Doug Anthony Allstars at the Brisbane Powerhouse (we saw the friday gig here and you can read all about them here). I have to give these folks a big cheer. Nowadays you are lucky to get an hour and a half of entertainment for your money at a live show. DAAS spent a full three hours on stage with no breaks. If you also add that Tim Ferguson has MS and was in his chair, with a fan blowing on him so he didn’t wigg out, I reckon they deserve 5 stars. It was a great night. Laughed me guts out.
DAAS_webFlacco intro’ed the show. If you know DAAS, you’ll know Flacco:
DAAS_FlaccoIf you don’t want to slip off to Wikipedia to read about this trio, then this snippet should describe them. They’ve been performing since the early 80’s:

“Long before anyone knew the term, one of our greatest driving forces was to be politically incorrect,” said Ferguson. Each band member developed distinctive onstage characters, with McDermott adopting a nasty, mean persona, while Ferguson played a narcissistic character who was “gorgeous but stupid”. Fidler initially played the straight man, but as the group became more aggressive he developed into a character who was naturally happy and caring but frequently victimised by his fellow band members.

The group drew inspiration from short-lived punk bands like the Fat Sluts, The Lone Reagans and Forbidden Mule, whom Ferguson describes as “like all punk bands… very fast and furious.” Much of the band’s provocative style emerged from their origins as street performers, where to get people’s attention they resorted to outrageous or theatrical tactics—the group would sometimes walk into the street and stop traffic to get noticed.”Sometimes we have to do really ugly or horrendous things to get people’s attention, and we’re not afraid to do that. We’ll hit someone if it gets a bit of discourse going,” said McDermott.

The thing I like about the city is the variety of food available. Big villages always have lotsa food. Giant fruit markets, butchers, seafood markets. Weekend markets with spices available in bulk. Just too much yumminess. I put on 10 kilos in 3 months this time…

I also like the proximity to large alcohol outlets like Dan Murphy’s. I can pick and choose beers to taste, and don’t have to make a major mission of it. I sampled a few of note this time. Check these out next time you’re at a Dan’s or similar.

La Trappe is a favourite of a Flemish mate of mine. We’ve shared the odd one. At 10% alc/vol, you should take it steady. A very rich beer.

La_Trappe_Quadrupel_10pc

 

 

This is Love Tap. It’s a play on the mis-heard lyrics of Love Shack. It’s a good meaty Double Lager:

Love_Tap_Double_Lager

 

Now this one was a surprise. I thought, “Oh yeah, a chilli beer. It can’t be too hot.” Mmmm, well…after a few mouthfuls the heat began to take hold. If you like chilli, and you like good beer, give this one from Matso’s Brewery in Broome Western Australia a go.

Matsos_Chilli_Beer

Now you know I am a nature boy; hippy from way back. So most of photos have been of things seen in the Mungarra nature park just behind where I was staying. The city has a resonating hum. You notice it more in the early hours of the morning. The sound of countless air-conditioners; the hum of cars on the streets and highways; the hum of electricity. In the day, the noise of the streets is louder. Cars, trucks, bikes, the wail of sirens. The park is a kind of escape, but the sound still surrounds you. Still, I like the city.
Here a few photos. If you’re in my feed on Facebook, you will have already seen some of these.

We were heading out of Kelvin Grove, heading back out to Petrie and ended up behind this trailer. They turned off at the Samford turn-off, but not before we got some photos. Only in Australia hey?

A collection of fibreglass and resin sculptures spotted in Brisbane, QLD  Australia

A collection of fibreglass and resin sculptures spotted in Brisbane, QLD Australia

I captured a lot of the wildlife on my walks in Mungarra Reserve, by the banks of the North Pine River. Here a are a few of them. Some are a bit dodgy quality wise:

Pacific Black duck on a pond in Mungarra Reserve, Petrie QLD.

Pacific Black duck on a pond in Mungarra Reserve, Petrie QLD.

A Pacific Black duck creates geometric ripples on a pond in Mungarra Reserve, Petrie QLD.

A Pacific Black duck creates geometric ripples on a pond in Mungarra Reserve, Petrie QLD.

An Australian Wood Duck in Mungarra Reserve, Petrie QLD

An Australian Wood Duck in Mungarra Reserve, Petrie QLD

A pair of Dushy Gallinules in Mungarra Reserve, Petrie QLD

A pair of Dusky Gallinules in Mungarra Reserve, Petrie QLD

A turtle rests on a log while flowering trees reflect colours in the pond

A turtle rests on a log while flowering trees reflect colours in the pond

Water drips from a Pacific Black Duck's beak

Water drips from a Pacific Black Duck’s beak

Pacific Black ducks create soft ripples on a pond in Mungarra Reserve, Petrie QLD.

Pacific Black ducks create soft ripples on a pond in Mungarra Reserve, Petrie QLD.

An Australian Darter perched on a branch in the upper reaches of North Pine River, Petrie QLD

An Australian Darter perched on a branch in the upper reaches of North Pine River, Petrie QLD

I had more pics, but they are still in Brissie. So, then I went home. Flew to Cairns in 2 hours, then took 2 days to get home (I was a hitch hiking hippy). I’ll show a few in my next post, and tell you about the Blue Ulysses Butterfly that visited me.

*This has nothing to do with my post. One person only will get the reference 😉

2 thoughts on “Oh, Hello. I’ve Been Busy.

    • No worries mate :). I wish I had the Smoked Porter one to show you. They smoke the hops with certain timbers before brewing the beer. It really has a smokey taste. Like drinking at a BBQ that has smokey ribs on the go, only there’s no bbq 🙂 It was another really nice beer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

