Just Call me The Doctor

I wrote this 2 weeks ago, with the intention of adding the photos etc. I’ll see how I go and see how much I trim of the original.

Oh, my keyboard is playing ip. Here is sample of a line of text uncorrected:

Thius jkeyboard ius driuviung m,e absoliutely iunsane wiuth iuts shorts.

This took me far longer to write and edit than it will take you to read. The Doctor reference? You are about to travel in time and space…

2:00pm on New Years Eve, Wednesday here in Oz at +10:00GMT/UT. I’m about to have a nanna nap. A few folk are over, sitting outside where the fire usually burns in Winter. It’s a half recovery, half keep drinking so you don’t get a hangover before Midnight kinda gathering. I stayed sober because I hadn’t planned on having a drink until later in the day/evening.
So, I’m just getting organised and sorting some music for the folk here, when a mate turns up. He isn’t allowed to drive too far by himself due a condition of some sort, and asks a favour; can I come down to Wonga Beach with him to pick up his daughter?

So we leave about 2:30 with soft drinks in the car fridge and my camera and GPS (a Garmin eTrex 30 for the curious) in my lap. We made PK’s at Cape Tribulation in near record time; my mate had also wanted to get to the Auto Pro store at Mossman, the main sugar town not much further than where we were picking up his daughter. It took us just over an hour and a half to get to the Daintree Ferry, and if you know the Bloomfield Track, you’ll know that’s quick. We had one Gumbu (piss) stop on the way, and got held up by a few slow movers. The Woobadda Creek bridge is now open. I’ll dedicate a special post to this bridge when I can get down there and take a lot of photos.

Woobadda Creek Bridge

Woobadda Creek Bridge

So, about 5km out of Mossman, the front right tyre begins to delaminate, spitting some shreds of rubber out the back and giving the tailgating Toyota ute behind us a fright. We pulled up and checked it and decided to limp into town. Of course, when we get to the Auto Pro shop, there is a big sign in the window saying ‘closed til the 5th of January’.
Back to see a mate just out of town who may have another wheel. We needed another spare for the trip home, because as ‘normal’ as I may consider the Bloomfield Track, you don’t want to be stuck without a spare at night, because sometimes you might be the only person on it for another 10 hours or more. They didn’t have one, so I changed the tyre there with the spare we had and headed North again.
We picked up his daughter and grabbed some food at the servo, then stopped in at another bloke’s place who we knew had a tyre and rim on a vehicle. He warned of the mozzies down the back paddock where the wrecks were, but we needed it. Luckily there were only 2 nuts on the wheel we were grabbing. Jacked and removed and in the back and on our way in 5 minutes.
We got back to the ferry around 7:30pm, just as it was getting dark. The good thing about driving the Cape Trib and Bloomfield roads at night is you can see oncoming vehicles’ headlights coming around the tight, twisting corners. You can cut a lot of the corners and save a lot of time at night. The downside to night driving is you need to watch out for night animals. Big boars mainly. Most rainforest dwellers are arboreal, but you get the odd Bandicoot, Quoll or White tailed Rat on the road as well.
Anyway, my mate shouted me a 6 pack of Coopers Sparkling Ale at the Cow Bay pub, so I drank one on the way up The Track. ‘Maude’, my mate calls his Landcruiser wagon ‘Maude’, has an issue with it’s Alternator where the rear shaft housing has got some minute movement, it cause the thing to scream due to stress on the fan belt. Like sitting in a house with the burglar alarm siren screaming.

Here’s a few photos taken from, the window of a careening Toyota Landcruiser 80 series wagon.

An archway of green before the big downhill on Cowie Range heading South FNQ

An archway of green before the big downhill on Cowie Range heading South FNQ

A view of the Daintree River mouth from the Alexandra Range heading South

A view of the Daintree River mouth from the Alexandra Range heading South

Tall trees at the road edge

Tall trees at the road edge

Rainforest at the road edge

Rainforest at the road edge

Roadworks on the Bloomfield Track, North end before Woobadda Creek bridge FNQ. 31 December 2014

Roadworks on the Bloomfield Track, North end before Woobadda Creek bridge FNQ. 31 December 2014

This mage was taken before the bridge opened

The Woobadda Creek bridge during construction in early November 2014

The Woobadda Creek bridge during construction in early November 2014

The Woobadda Creek zig zag bridge

The Woobadda Creek zig zag bridge

Woobadda Creek Bridge approach. FNQ

Woobadda Creek Bridge approach. FNQ

Bright Orange tape marks the habitat of a rare frog species. The Woobadda Creek bridge was redesigned to cater for these frogs.

Bright Orange tape marks the habitat of a rare frog species. The Woobadda Creek bridge was redesigned to cater for these frogs.

We got home at about 9:30pm. Norm is trying to stay up til midnight. I’ve been editing images and typing this up so I can publish it as soon as my bandwidth kicks up again.

So, that was what I wrote New Year’s Eve.

Since August:

I have been to Brisbane for 3 months (as I’ve written), to be with a dear friend. I had planned on being there a week, to say goodbye I guess. Truthfully, I went down because I needed to know if we could have a relationship; if I could fix what I’d broken. But I was expecting to be rejected. One thing led to another and I stayed. I love this person dearly, but at present, I am not strong enough to be there, to move. I left at the beginning of November, and I feel like I’ve let her down. I know she doesn’t feel that way, but I do. She surprised me by flying up a week before Christmas to say hi. It was a week I won’t forget. I hold it close to my heart.

Coming back, I hitched from Cairns airport, up to Cape Tribulation. I got the bus out to Palm Cove, then got another 3 lifts out to the ferry and across to Cow Bay. I stopped there for the night and got drunk with the locals. Next morning, another 2 lifts got me to PJKs at cape. I was there around 11am, and didn’t get a lift until late in the arvo. Ziggy from Broome picked me up and took me all the way home. He crashed the night at our place and headed off next day.

Fitzroy Island FNQ

Fitzroy Island FNQ

Kunwurarra Magnesite Mine Central Queensland. This deposit was discovered by an amateur geologist (he was a scaffolder by profession) called Bob. I worked with him, at Curragh mine construction) back in the early 80s. It was the largest Magnesite deposit ever found in Australia, and the majority of the deposit is less than 20 metres below the surface.

Kunwarara Magnesite Mine Central Queensland. This deposit was discovered by an amateur geologist (he was a scaffolder by profession) called Bob. I worked with him, at Curragh mine construction) back in the early 80s. It was the largest Magnesite deposit ever found in Australia, and the majority of the deposit is less than 20 metres below the surface.

Part of the Great Barrier Reef from a passenger jet heading South

Part of the Great Barrier Reef from a passenger jet heading South

Another view of Petrie from, the air. Brisbane QLD

Another view of Petrie from, the air. Brisbane QLD

The Pine River and Petrie rail overpass are at centre of picture. The Red scar across the image is the works for the Redcliffe rail line. To the top of the picture, in the background, is another Red scar. This is the old gravel quarry that we used to swim, at when I was a kid. It will soon be a housiung development

The Pine River and Petrie rail overpass are at centre of picture. The Red scar across the image is the works for the Redcliffe rail line. To the top of the picture, in the background, is another Red scar. This is the old gravel quarry that we used to swim, at when I was a kid. It will soon be a housing development

Mt Morgan Central Queensland. Once the largest, most productive Gold mine in the world.

Mt Morgan Central Queensland. Once the largest, most productive Gold mine in the world.

The Gabba. Queensland's hallowed home of cricket. Located in Woolloongabba on the South side of the Brisbane Riuver, QLD

The Gabba. Queensland’s hallowed home of cricket. Located in Woolloongabba on the South side of the Brisbane River, QLD

Indooroopilly Bridge Brisbane. The end pillars were once housing for the bridge keepers, when it was a toll bridge

Indooroopilly Bridge Brisbane. The end pillars were once housing for the bridge keepers, when it was a toll bridge

Brisbane city from the air. The Brisbane Powerhouse Theatre is at bottom of screen, on the river bank

Brisbane city from the air. The Brisbane Powerhouse Theatre is at bottom of screen, on the river bank

On the way to Brisbane, we had to skirt a storm

On the way to Brisbane, we had to skirt a storm

I went down to Rockhampton a week after I got back for my Daughter’s High School Graduation (around November 20). She will be 18 at the end of January…Does that make me old, or does that make Her old? I guess it depends on whose eyes you look through. I don’t feel old, and Lill still looks like my baby girl, even though I know she is now an adult, with a job and a boyfriend, and a future that is limitless.

Lillian and Zane at her High School Graduation

Lillian and Zane at her High School Graduation

When I left Rockhampton, I caught the bus to Townsville. Bad move. Ended up walking about 15 kilometres from one side of Townsville to the other, before I got a lift. The trip back was helped by my friend from Brisbane buying me a ticket from Ingham, to Cairns. After that, I walked about 10 kilometres or more in a couple of stretches while hitching out of Cairns to home. I ended up at Ellis beach for a couple of hours before my mate in Ayton turned up to pick me up and take me home. He didn’t like the idea of me being there overnight wiuh no food or cash. The lovely waitress at the Bar n Grill made me an awesome coffee though, before they closed up. If you are up this way, drop in and enjoy a meal and a drink. It’ s an awesome spot.

Welcome to the Tropics

Welcome to the Tropics

Ellis Beach Stinger Net

Ellis Beach Stinger Net

Ellis Beach Lifesavers Cabin

Ellis Beach Lifesavers Cabin

Ellis Beach Bar n Grill

Ellis Beach Bar n Grill

Three Curlews on Ellis Beach FNQ. I didn't notice the mother or chick until I enhanced this image

Three Curlews on Ellis Beach FNQ. I didn’t notice the mother or chick until I enhanced this image

It has been dry. It has been wet. It has been calm. It has been windy. For the first time in 3 years, we have a mosquito invasion. Normally, mozzies aren’t much of an issue here. However, it seems the late Wet season has made the mosquitoes mad for blood so they can breed up. We hoped for rain, and got some. The downside is that we are getting long overcast days that get the humidity up to the 90s and the temps up in the low to mid 30s.

Across the Daintree at sunset

Across the Daintree at sunset

Mt Finnigan, FNQ Australia

Mt Finnigan, FNQ Australia

North towards home. Only 60 odd kilometres to go

North towards home. Only 60 odd kilometres to go

Technology and farming overwhelm,the rainforest South of the Daintree

Technology and farming overwhelm,the rainforest South of the Daintree

Back at home, we got to watch a one-sided battle between a Green tree snake and a Black Butcher burd. Here are just 2 of many that I took over the course of about half an hour.

Black Butcher Bird and a Green tree Snake. The bird won.

Black Butcher Bird and a Green tree Snake. The bird won.

Black Butcher Bird and a Green tree Snake. The bird won.

Black Butcher Bird and a Green tree Snake. The bird won.

Bella has grown. Here are some dog pics

Bella 08/01/2015 about 4 months old.

Bella 08/01/2015 about 4 months old.

Floyd smiling after some running around

Floyd smiling after some running around

Bella 08/01/2015 Growing up

Bella 08/01/2015 Growing up

Jack is now around 10 years old, going on Eleven.

Jack is now around 10 years old, going on Eleven.

Floyd 078/01/2015 about 3 and a half years old.

Floyd 08/01/2015 about 3 and a half years old.

I went to Cairns with my mate from Ayton last week. Here are a few snaps from, the journey.

Pre Wet burning off in the valley. Byerstown Range, South end.

Pre Wet burning off in the valley. Byerstown Range, South end.

Heading North on the Mulligan Highway FNQ

Heading North on the Mulligan Highway FNQ

A view from the Rex Range, looking North towards Mossman and Daintree. FNQ

A view from the Rex Range, looking North towards Mossman and Daintree. FNQ

On the Gillies Range, South of Cairns. We had a quick trip through the Tablelands last week.

On the Gillies Range, South of Cairns. We had a quick trip through the Tablelands last week. This frog is painted in a position that would require good balance, some ropes, and a complete lack of concern for the cars and trucks passing just below your canvas

The pic below was taken on Christmas Eve

Christmas Eve 2014. Bob's Lookout, FNQ

Christmas Eve 2014. Bob’s Lookout, FNQ

A few nights ago the flying ants came out in force. Here is a couple of pics.

Bella getting confused by all the flying things 13/01/2015

Bella getting confused by all the flying things 13/01/2015

Watching the flying ants that are pretending to be fairies.

Watching the flying ants that are pretending to be fairies.

Flying Ants 13/01/2015

Flying Ants 13/01/2015

Leave a Reply

