The Internet Archive You may Not Know of

I’ve been playing around with computers and this Interwebz thing for a short 17 years. I got into it partly by accident when I decided on an IT degree instead of Environmental Science. From the outset of this journey into the world of computing I was attached to the Internet. Well, attached by a 28.8K dial-up modem so long as my partner didn’t want to use the phone.

I had a modem, just like this one as I slowly upgraded from 28.8 to 33.6, then 56k! Eventually I ended up with an internal PCI modem. This image stolen from here: Gough’s Techzone.

banksia

But that’s not why I decided to bash this keyboard. I’ve seen a particular video on Facebook recently that took me way back to when I first saw The Internet Archive, or Archive.org and the Prelinger Collection. I can’t recall who put me on to it, but I typed in the address and had a look around. I found my Nirvana of old video. Did you ever have to sit through those VD and drug movies that they played at school in the 60s and 70s? Well, chances are you’ll find one that will jog your memory in the Prelinger Collection. Anti-weed documentary/dramatisations like ‘Reefer Madness‘? <- Just click that link. What about that old Nuclear War propaganda/education film the US Govt released, ‘Duck and Cover‘ featuring the turtle. Just so much good stuff!

In fact, you’ll find everything from old Betty Boop cartoons to classic music clips through to some of the latest amateur and professional vlogs and ephemera. Go on, have a look at The Archive,  and get lost for a few hours. Most of the video and other items are available to download too.

Screen Shot 2015-04-18 at 6.36.04 pm

4 thoughts on “The Internet Archive You may Not Know of

  1. I doubt it even this archive has the Australian Pork television commercial from way back with the catchphrase “Life’s pretty boring without bacon.” I swear, I’m the only person who remembers those.
    But I’ll have a look and see…just in case. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks so much, Brad. This is incredibly pertinent to my employment situation right now (wanting to download music and entertainment but flat broke and can’t afford the fees) and I am grateful.

    Like

  3. Pingback: A Musical Interlude | Brad's Blog

Leave a comment