See How My Garden Grows

Hey. Here are a few random images of the Sunbird nest, the vegetables and a few creatures.

The Female Sunbird has just about finished the nest, It will get some more soft inner lining soon. However, now that the nest is finished, her and her mate will stay away for a week or so before beginning the nesting process.

_MG_3968

_MG_3969

You can see the awning that the bird has made over the entrance to the nest space. It will shade the entrance as well as stop any rain getting in there.

_MG_3971

I hope they raise a successful clutch. They usually have 2 chicks and both parents share in feeding them. However, only the female broods. The male has to find a comfortable tree to spend his nights. The chicks fledge between 2 and 3 weeks after hatching.

The vegetable garden is looking promising. The Radish have sprouted as would be expected. They sprout anywhere, and sprout within a week of sowing. The carrots have poked their heads up now. They still look like tiny grass shoots, but they’re up. The Tomatoes are also sprouting along the top fence, and there are a few on the bottom one as well in amongst the Cucumber and Snow Peas. The Snow Peas and Lebanese Cucumber on the side fence (East side) are all powering on. I’ve mulched around them now to help conserve soil moisture. The Red Dragon Snake Beans are sprouting along the base of the West fence too. Oh, and the Bok Choy are poking along steady.

This is what the Snow Peas and the Lebanese Cucumber are looking like. That hay in the background is the mulch my lawnmower made of all that grass that the garden was once full of. As they say, give back to the garden what you take out.

Snow Pea getting anchorage on the fence

Snow Pea getting anchorage on the fence

The Lebanese Cucumber ready to burst forth

The Lebanese Cucumber ready to burst forth

This Eastern Tarantula (Phlogius crassipes) was living under some lengths of wood that were covering the water pipes beside the ‘Wet Shed’. I took these photos and replaced the boards. However, I checked a few days later and she had abandoned the nest. I’d say she has found a more secluded spot to live. These can get to 16cm long. This was only a youngster, with a body length of around 6cm.

Eastern tarantula (Phlogius crassipes) nest

Eastern tarantula (Phlogius crassipes) nest

Eastern tarantula (Phlogius crassipes)

Eastern tarantula (Phlogius crassipes)

Did you know that Australia has over 1500 species of native bees? 1500! I was surprised. Many of them are solitary bees, as in they don’t form a hive, like this aptly named Metallic Carpenter Bee. The Carpenter bee will nest in wood, or the tops of Grass trees. I took a few of photos of this one today, trying to capture the iridescent colours of its body.  These are the best I could get with my old camera.

_MG_4002 (1)

_MG_4014

_MG_4015

_MG_4017

_MG_4019

_MG_4021

_MG_4026

Two skinks took an interest in the bee as it was buzzing about. One cam efrom the top of the post, while another tried it’s luck from below. These skinks are one of the Ctenotus genus of skinks. There are around 100 different species of Ctenotus spread throughout Australia. I *think*  these ones are the Straight-Browed Ctenotus (Ctenotus spaldingi).

Ctenotus spaldingi 01

Ctenotus spaldingi 01

See the iridescent Blue on this one? I think it has either just moulted, or is about to. Amazing colour.

Ctenotus spaldingi 02

Ctenotus spaldingi 02

I wandered around the garden this arvo, catching up with all the plants. I have to remove that Celerywood from where the coconut is trying to grow. Otherwise it will get choked out. The coconut has thrived through the Wet season, so the roots will be strong enough to survive a dry spell now. In 15 years someone will be eating the fruit.

_MG_4085

The largest of the Pineapple plants are nearly ready to flower/fruit. The central part of the leaves are turning a reddish colour. They’re a Bromeliad (I think-GOF, are they?), so the flower becomes the fruit.

_MG_4087

This is a cane type plant in the garden. I never remember its name. But I once owned one for, well, actually, it is still at my ex and daughter’s house. So that means it has been alive and only repotted three times in nearly 32 years. True! I was working in a nursery at Blackwater in Central Queensland in mid 1983. I bought one of these in a pot and had it at my parent’s place in my room. Then I went out to the single men’s quarters when I scored a job in construction at Curragh mine. The plant went with me. Then, in October ’83, I had a serious car accident and all my belongings from the quarters went back to mum and dad’s, including my pot plants (I had a few in my room). Anyway, years later mum tells me she still has my plant and do I want it back? So, I did. Mum had repotted it once, then over the next 20 years, I repotted it twice. So yep, the plant I had that looks like this one is still alive after 32 years.

_MG_4083

I saw this Mulberry leaf, backlit with morning sun. It looks pretty cool

_MG_4072 (1)

This is a photo of the steps between the house proper and the ‘Wet Shed’, where the laundry, bathroom and toilet are. The gardens are full of native gingers, Elephant Ears, Crows nest, Rosella plants, Lemongrass, 2 types of Basil, Pumpkin, and soon there will be Parsley and Lemon Balm and some capsicums.

front garden

2 thoughts on “See How My Garden Grows

Leave a Reply

