Memories03

So, where was I? Oh, that’s right, the Magpie. My big sis thought we were West of Collinsville but I’m pretty sure we were in South Australia. But hey, I was only 3 or 4 at the time so Roz is probably right. Anyway, I was told (and there is a photo somewhere) that when we lived out bush in the 18 foot Franklin caravan, we had a 44 gallon drum cut in half as a bath. The water was heated in the afternoon with a fire under it so it would be warm at night for bath time. Anyway, we had a young magpie that had decided we were family. One night when Roz and I were having our bath, the Magpie was sitting on edge of the drum. We decided it was cold and draped it in warm, wet washers, or it may have been toilet paper. Well, next morning it was dead. It was wet and the night was cold so mum assumed it had frozen to death. Bloody kids…

My first day at a real school was at Beachport in South Australia. Prior to that I was taught via Correspondence School. I didn’t want to go. For the first 3 days I screamed and wailed for an hour and wouldn’t participate in class. On the morning of the 4th day mum promised me a Matchbox car if I was good at school. My first introduction to bribery. I was good. In fact, I was so good I amassed quite the collection. I don’t remember having any friends in my first year of school, but I do remember sitting under a big shady tree, playing with my Matchbox cars during lunchtime. Mum saved all our school report cards and significantly, I was top of the class and got 93 and a half on our final exam. Yes, even 5 year olds had to do exams in 1968.

My next school memories were when we had moved back to Brisbane in 1968/9. Sunnybank Primary School. We lived at the 7 Pines caravan park, not far from the school. I’ll tell you a few stories another day.

3 thoughts on “Memories03

  1. Well, here’s something interesting that you might be interested in (about Sunnybank and Seven Trees Caravan Park) http://www.ramezshafik.com.au/sunnybank.html and I think that you might be correct about our location when we accidentally killed the magpie … although my memory is still very vague about it’s torturous death lol.

    We lived in the Beachport Caravan Park (which had ‘in ground’ trampolines in a fenced off area that we were obsessed with) for a few months. I have a lot of memories from that time, most of them unpleasant, and one of them was hearing you screaming in pain as Mum attempted to lance your boils. I can still hear that sound so clearly.

    I did love that school though. It was a tiny school and I think there were only two teachers – I vaguely remember there being about 37 kids in two classrooms and the teachers had to teach all the grades in two separate rooms.

    Love your work xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment